Blood, Bonds, Barbells & Virtuousity

Excellence is the quality of being outstanding or extremely good. Excellence, it has been said, is not an act but a habit. Excellence for me is different than excellence for any other person.

Every moment of my life has been a step toward right now. I would not be here writing this at this moment if I did not make every decision I have made.

In my time, I have found a few very important things: blood, bonds, barbells and virtuosity.

1150772_10100226057376435_1753922569_nBlood: My blood – my family – is crazy, unapologetic, truthful, loving and fierce. My father would give anything for me. Anything. That is not something many can say. My sisters are by my side even if I’m standing at the gates of hell. My grandparents will always tell me how it is and express their care and concern. My aunts and uncles are like big brothers and sisters in that they are protective and supportive.

Bonds: The only person you will share your entire life with is you. I have bonds with people who I haven’t seen in years and those who I see every day. Some people may not even know these bonds exist. There are events that I remember from as far back as 2-3 years old when I lived in California with my father when he served in the U.S. Marine Corps, to being in high school and having exposure to multiple life lessons crafted expertly by special teachers that to this day I still learn from, to yesterday sitting on the break wall in Buffalo under the peace bridge with my 4-year-old son. Life is not about things or money. It’s about moments, experiences and bonds.

374414_554925131234151_279396511_nBarbells: Life is a series of different challenges or tests. We don’t always get to choose them; sometimes they choose us. I have come to find that fitness in any sense – whether it be CrossFit, running or hiking – are microcosms of life. It’s a test. What can I do?  How far can I go? Will I make it out of this?  What did I learn?  It is my therapy and it is my peace. Exercise is cathartic to me. It is my drug of choice. I get it where I can, when I can, as much as I can. I have learned so much from helping others on their exercise journeys and as I have on my own personal journey.

Virtuosity: It is doing the common uncommonly well. I have a hard time doing something just a little bit. I love to know, and I love to know a lot. I am always trying to better myself. I am trying to always improve and enhance what it is I know and what it is I do. I am a seeker of knowledge and want to know everything I can about what interests me. I love space, I love nature, I love the body and I love architecture. There are so many things that I want to know about and it all may be different next year. What ever I do, I want to do the best I can with it for as long as I can. I want to do the simple and basic things the best I can, better than I ever have.

I am not sure where this blog will take me, much in the same way that I do not know where life will take me, but I am going to enjoy this ride and take in all it has to offer me. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

